E-forum (closed) |  Newsletter |   News
  • A Global Multi-Stakeholder meeting

    Desertif'actions is the Civil society International Forum dedicated to land degradation and combating desertification. The forum will bring together over 300 stakeholders from over 100 countries from June 10th to 13th 2015 in Montpellier (France).

    Civil society organizations, scientists, local government, farmer organizations, private and public institutions… will meet in Montpellier in order to share their concerns and built common positions on desertification and land degradation under a changing climate and its consequences in northern and southern countries!

    The Désertif'actions 2015 Program includes:
     3 days collaborative work with panel and group work in Montpellier among international stakeholders
     Preparatory meetings in southern countries
     One preparatory e-forum open to all 3 days devoted to workshops
    and...
     One special day downtown devoted to the general public awareness and cultural and scientific events open to the public

  • Desertification is not just happening somewhere else!

    All too often, desertification is perceived as simply the spreading of the desert and sand dunes. This vision is essentially romantique and false. Desertification is a process of degradation of the soils caused by climatic and human induced factors. In different regions and under different climates, desertification affects more than 100 countries including 13 in Europe. More than one billion of people are directly harmed by desertification worldwide.

    40% of the surface of land is affected by desertification.
    44% of the cultivated systems are impacted.

    The consequences of desertification are worldwide: loss of soil fertility, reduction of animal and vegetal biodiversity, soils degradation, decrease of agriculture productions, negative impacts on the climate… Many of these threats are collective and the climate change does aggravate them.

    The consequences of desertification deteriorate further the livelihoods of the most vulnerable populations, limiting their development, increase the forced migrations and induce locally and on long distance social instability, thus worldwide insecurity .

    In this context it's time for civil society to resonate its voices! It is up to each and every one of us!

  • Homepage3-Une année déterminante pour l'avenir de notre planète
    Homepage3-Une année déterminante pour l'avenir de notre planète

    2015: a Decisive Year for the Earth’s Future

    In 2015, a number of decisive international governance encounters will be taking place to address the environment, climate and biodiversity issues.

    The stakeholders impacted by desertification processes and by the acceleration of these processes are often not asked to participate in international debates. Civil society’s purpose in meeting at Desertif'actions 2015 is to reintroduce the testimony and interrogations of these stakeholders into international conversation and debate. It will then be in a better position to make itself heard during the upcoming international summits, which include:

    • UN General Assembly and validation of the Sustainable Development Objectives
    • United Nations Conference to Combat Desertification in Istanbul,
    • United Nations Conference on Climate presided by France in December 2015.
    Civil society’s participation in these meetings - in which decisions concerning the future of the planet and its populations will be taken – will only be effective if we are able to articulate a strong, clear common message.

Désertif'actions 2015 in brief...

+ 350 participants

+ 100 countries represented

3 lines work

1 special events day


 E-forum (closed) |  Newsletter |  News

E-forum (fermé) |  Liste de diffusion |   Actualités
  • Un rendez-vous mondial multi-acteurs

    Désertif'actions 2015 est le Forum international de la société civile dans le domaine de la lutte contre la désertification et la dégradation des terres. Il réunira plus de 300 acteurs du développement international du 10 au 13 juin 2015 à Montpellier.

    Organisations de la société civile, scientifiques, collectivités locales, organisations paysannes, institutions privées et publiques... Tous se donnent rendez-vous à Montpellier pour débattre et bâtir leurs positions communes dans le domaine de la dégradation des terres, de la lutte contre la désertification, du changement climatique et de ses conséquences au nord comme au sud.

    Désertif'actions 2015, c'est :
     Trois jours d'ateliers participatifs à Montpellier entre acteurs du développement international,
     Des réunions préparatoires dans les pays au sud,
     Un forum électronique,
    et...
     Une journée de rencontres avec le grand public.

  • La désertification, ce n'est pas que là bas !

    Trop souvent, la désertification est perçue comme l‘avancée du désert et du sable. Cette vision essentiellement romantique est inexacte. La désertification correspond à un processus de dégradation des sols causée par les facteurs climatiques et les activités humaines. Dans différentes régions et climats du globe, elle affecte plus de 100 pays dont 13 en Europe. Plus d'un milliard de personnes sont directement concernées par la désertification dans le monde.

    40 % de la surface émergée de la planète sont touchées par la désertification
    44 % des systèmes cultivés sont concernés

    Les conséquences de la désertification sont mondiales : perte de fertilité des sols, réduction de la biodiversité des espèces animales et végétales, dégradation des sols, baisse des productions agricoles, impacts négatifs sur le climat… Beaucoup de ces menaces sont collectives et le changement climatique constitue un facteur d’aggravation.

    Les conséquences de la désertification détériorent davantage les conditions de vie des populations les plus vulnérables, elles accroissent les migrations forcées tout en alimentant sur place et à longue distance l'instabilité sociale, voire l’insécurité mondiale.

    La société civile ne peut rester muette. Plus que l’affaire de quelques-uns, nous sommes tous concernés !

  • Homepage3-Une année déterminante pour l'avenir de notre planète
    Homepage3-Une année déterminante pour l'avenir de notre planète

    2015 : une année déterminante pour l'avenir de notre planète

    2015 est une année marquée par de multiples rencontres décisives de la gouvernance internationale dans le domaine de l'environnement, du climat et de la biodiversité.

    Malheureusement les populations affectées par la désertification et son accélération sont trop peu sollicitées. Trop peu de liens sont faits entre terre, climat et biodiversité. Afin de réintroduire les témoignages des acteurs de terrain et de rééquilibrer les débats, la société civile de quatre continents se réunit à Désertif'actions 2015 pour mieux faire entendre sa voix lors des futurs sommets internationaux :

    • Assemblée Générale de l'ONU au cours de laquelle seront validés les Objectif de Développement Durable,
    • Conférence des Nations Unies sur la Lutte Contre la Désertification en Turquie,
    • Conférence des Nations Unies sur le Climat présidée par la France en décembre 2015.
    Des décisions prises en 2015 dépendra une partie de l'avenir pour tous. Désertif'actions 2015 a pour ambition de contribuer aux rencontres où se décide l'avenir de la planète.

Désertif'actions 2015, c'est...

+ de 350 participants

+ de 100 pays représentés

3 axes de travail

1 journée événement au cœur de Montpellier


 E-forum (fermé) |  Liste de diffusion |  Actualités